Lets Talk BOOKS

Hello 2016! Current TBR Books for January

Hello! First blog of 2016!

tumblr_n1y7i58c0R1qf9mevo1_500

How’s the new year treating you awesome people? It’s the fourth day of 2016 and for me, personally, it’s been a bit surreal. Still. We have our lovely blue and silver themed Christmas tree up and majestically lighting our entranceway, a lit garland lining the stair’s railing, and mini lit trees outside our front door. HOW THE HECK DID CHRISTMAS COME AND GO?

*takes deep breaths*

tumblr_moih1cpf4i1rc1xlho1_500

I was a bit sick on the second and third day of the new year, so my bed has been my friend. My very close friend. In between times of feeling like I would pass out, I took to planning for all the things. You know, those pesky resolution goals we all talk about at the end of each year. I’ve got a plan; a plan I am most definitely happy with. I made it determined but simple. I don’t want to be my own nemesis by presenting a clear, FAIL for the year. I’ve done that already. No, no. We are making things happen this year, people!

Whoa. Okay, off topic a bit. So…READING!

love-books

With a new month comes the books we set in mind to attack. We booknerds like to call it a, TBR pile.

BtLAmFhCYAAuQuj

This isn’t my entire pile. I have two sets of books. I have a pile of books that I am excited to read but also intend to review for a blog. Then, there’s the personal pile. The books you may never know I read. Sometimes, I’ll just pick random books from Kindle Unlimited and read them in one sitting. Most times than not, they’re good but nothing to write home about. I enjoyed them but usually by the week’s end, I don’t remember any details about it.

Within this shared pile today, I have a mix of both. I’ll explain.

Here they are! 

(from bottom to top)
Photo Jan 04, 5 02 48 PM

1. ALL OF YOU by Christina Lee

17838603

Avery has just met her hot upstairs neighbor. He’s irresistible. Tattooed. And a virgin.

Nursing student Avery Michaels wants nothing to do with dating—she’s perfectly happy single. Privy to too many of her mother’s bad decisions and even worse taste in boyfriends, all Avery can handle is a string of uncomplicated hookups whenever the mood strikes.

When she meets smoking hot tattoo artist Bennett, she wants him—for just one night. But he won’t accept a no-strings-attached arrangement. He lives by a straight-laced code of values based on his own troubled upbringing.

Bennett sees something special in Avery and he wants more from her. Way more. As Avery wrestles with her emotions for Bennett, danger and tragedy force them to open up to each other. And Avery must face the terrifying realization that she wants more from him, too.

So she needs to make a choice—let Bennett go or finally let him in.


This was a gift for my birthday from Melody. She saw it and thought I would like it. I’m not gonna lie, I’m definitely curious to read about a hot tattoo artist who’s the virgin in this scenario instead of always the girl getting deflowered by the bad boy–though, I still love reading those toupes too; when done right. 

The ratings on Goodreads are in between but I’ll still give this book a chance. I see it as one of those fun escape reads.

I won’t be reviewing this for the blog unless it surprisingly blows my mind then, heck yeah, I’ll let you all know.

2. HE WILL BE MY RUIN by K. A. Tucker

25814244

The USA TODAY bestselling author of the Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water series makes her romantic thriller debut with this heartpounding story of a young woman determined to find justice after her best friend’s death, a story pulsing with the “intense, hot, emotional” (Colleen Hoover) writing that exhilarates her legions of fans.

Twenty-eight-year-old Maggie Sparkes arrives in New York City to pack up what’s left of her best friend’s belongings after a suicide that has left everyone stunned. The police have deemed the evidence conclusive: Celine got into bed, downed a bottle of Xanax and a handle of Maker’s Mark, and never woke up. But when Maggie discovers secrets in the childhood lock box hidden in Celine’s apartment, she begins asking questions. Questions about the man Celine fell in love with. The man she never told anyone about, not even Maggie. The man who Celine herself claimed would be her ruin.

On the hunt for answers that will force the police to reopen the case, Maggie uncovers more than she bargained for about Celine’s private life—and inadvertently puts herself on the radar of a killer who will stop at nothing to keep his crimes undiscovered.


This is one I was asked if I wanted to read for a review and I said, “Sure. Bring it!” I’ve heard a lot about this author but have yet to read her. I’m excited to see what this one’s about especially because I find the cover intriguing. Not your typical cover when it comes to this genre. 

3. SURVIVING ICE by K.A. Tucker

25110836

Ivy, a talented tattoo artist who spent the early part of her twenties on the move, is finally looking for a place to call home. She thinks she might have found it in San Francisco, but all that changes when she witnesses a terrible crime. She’s ready to pack up her things yet again, when a random encounter with a stranger keeps her in the city, giving her reason to stay after all.

That is, until Ivy discovers that their encounter wasn’t random. Not at all…


Here is another from the same author above and given to me for the same reason. I was asked if I’d like to read and review it. I’ll be reviewing it for another book site that I’m honored to review for. As soon as they’re out (the reviews), I’ll mention them here and link it for those interested. 

4. BUILT by Jay Crownover

25197119

The first in the new SAINTS OF DENVER series from NYT bestselling author of the MARKED MEN series, Jay Crownover

Sometimes you have to tear everything down to build something new…

Sayer Cole is frozen inside. At least, that’s what it’s felt like for as long as she can remember. She’s yet to let anyone past her icy exterior – and the one guy she thinks might melt her heart couldn’t possibly be interested in someone so uptight.

Rough, hard and hot-as-hell, Zeb Fuller has rebuilt his life and his construction business since protecting his family sent him to jail all those years ago. His elegant client, Sayer, makes him feel like a Neanderthal in denim, but despite the many hints that he’s been dropping to get to know her better, she seems oblivious to his charms.

Just as things finally start to heat up, Zeb’s past comes back to haunt him and he needs Sayer’s professional help to right a wrong and to save more than himself. As these opposites dig in for the fight of their lives, fire and ice collide in an unstoppable explosion of steam…


Also given to me for read and review, I have been interested in reading books from this author whom I’ve also heard a lot about. 

tumblr_mn73w53quc1s103ldo1_500

There you have it, folks! Those are just some of the books I’ll be reading for January. Tonight, I’m actually excited to dive into an ARC I just recieved of Corinne Micheal’s next release. She has become one of my favorite authors of 2015 (blog on those coming soon) so I can’t wait to meet my new book boyfriend. I’ll be reviewing it on this blog on it’s release day, January 19th.

What are some of the books you’ll be reading for January? 

5 thoughts on “Hello 2016! Current TBR Books for January

  1. I apologize. I thought I’d already posted this!

    Exit to Eden – Anne Rampling
    The Regulators – Richard Bachman (and many more)
    Vengence in Death – J.D. Robb
    The Silkworm – Robert Galbraith
    Career of Evil – Robert Galbraith

Leave a Reply

