The Book Life

‘Sweet Soul’ (Sweet Home Series #4) by Tillie Cole + GIVEAWAY!

12359828_421207674744932_2758614955463611202_n

Oh, man, this book. This. Book. This. Author. I have plenty to gush on both matters but before we get into that, let’s discuss my recent hiatus. Things have been beyond crazy for me lately and I plan to write a separate blog this week about it but in short; I’ve been moving houses. I have grown a strong hate for moving. I’ve done it plenty of times in the past but, I don’t know what it is about this time particularly, but it has SUCKED ASS. It’s been a nightmare. In part, it could be due to the crazy Jekyll and Hyde ex-landlord we used to be neighbors with giving us VERY short notice that they needed our old house vacant, asap. Anyway, all in the all, everything worked out and we are currently living in a new house. There are still boxes everywhere. It has been such an overwhelming experience but anyway, as I said, I’ll rant more about this later. LET’S GET INTO THIS BOOK!

Sweet Soul Cover

Title: Sweet Soul
Series: Sweet Home #4
Author: Tillie Cole
Age group: New adult
Genre: Contemporary romance
Release date: 15th December 2015

One shy lost soul.

One silent lonely heart.

One love to save them both.

Life has never been easy for twenty-year-old Levi Carillo. The youngest of the Carillo boys, Levi is nothing like his older brothers. He isn’t dark in looks or intimidating to everyone he meets. In fact, he’s quite the opposite. Haunted by a crippling shyness and the tragic events of his past, Levi spends his days with his head buried in his books, or training hard for his college football team. Too timid to talk to girls, Levi stays as far away as possible and completely on his own… until he saves the life of a troubled pretty blonde, a troubled pretty blonde that might just be the exception to his rule.

Elsie Hall is homeless. Or at least that’s all anyone ever sees. Everyday is a fight for survival on the cold streets of Seattle, everyday a struggle to find food and keep warm. Alone in life—a life that’s dangerous and cruel—her will to keep going is an ever-losing battle. In her world of silence, Elsie has given up hope that her life will contain anything but constant struggle and pain… until the beautiful boy she has severely wronged comes to her rescue at precisely the right time.

*New Adult novel—contains sexual situations and mature topics. Suited for ages 18 and up.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Tillie Cole Author Photo

Amazon & USA Today Best Selling Author, Tillie Cole is a Northern girl through and through. She originates from a place called Teesside on that little but awesomely sunny (okay I exaggerate) Isle called Great Britain. She was brought up surrounded by her English rose mother — a farmer’s daughter, her crazy Scottish father, a savagely sarcastic sister and a multitude of rescue animals and horses.

 

Website  –  Twitter  –  Facebook  –  Goodreads Author


Excerpt: 

Moving my hand, I ran my fingers over the brown beads. “Why do you hold these, Mamma? You always have them with you. Right now, you’re clutching them real tight.”

Mamma sighed and brought the rosary to her chest. “I use them to pray to Mother Mary. She gives me strength, mia luna. I pray to her for strength.” Mamma’s voice cracked again and I tried to think hard. I tried to think why she needed strength.

Blinking, a thought came to me and I asked, “Is it Austin and Axel? Do you pray for them? Because of the Heighters?”

Mamma sighed and ran her finger down my cheek. “Always, mia luna. I always pray for them. For what they do each night for that gang.”

I shook my head, knowing there was something else. “But what—”

Shh,” Mamma whispered. She then held up the rosary and placed it in my hand. She curled her hand around mine and pressed the beads into my palm. “Levi, you take these now. I want you to have these. I want you to keep them for strength. For the strength you will need someday soon.”

I frowned and shook my head. “No, Mamma. They’re yours. I’m strong with you around. I don’t need these.”

Mamma’s head dropped, and she took a deep breath.

Mamma?” I questioned. She was acting real strange.

Mamma wiped her cheeks and a sad smile spread on her lips. “Va bene, mia luna. I’ll keep them for now. Grazie. Always thinking of your mamma. But one day, when… when I’m not here, you keep these with you. I want you to remember that these are yours. You are not your brothers, Levi. You are kind and shy, not hard and boisterous, ready to fight the world. You are my quiet baby boy. My sweet, sweet soul.”

I’m not weak,” I pushed, hating that I wasn’t like my brothers. Axel and Austin were strong and tough. I wanted to be just like them.

Mamma pressed a kiss to my forehead. “Never, Levi. You are a Carillo boy after all. But you are different from Austin and Axel. They are alike in so many ways—hot headed and tough, hard on the outside until they let you in. You are the timid one, the gentle brother—inside and out. You are the one to carry his heart on his sleeve. You are the one who watches silently from afar and loves with all his soul. ” Mamma huffed, and said, “Whoever you end up with, my son, whoever claims your heart, will be a very special girl indeed.” Her finger stroked my cheek. “So much love, mia luna. You will love with your whole being, and it will be forever. You could not love in any other way.”

Sweet-Soul
Beautiful graphic by TotallyBookedBlog

Quick Thoughts:

First, let me say this. When it comes to many series standalones I’ve read, I have found they don’t necessarily need to be read in order. With the Carillo Boys, I would HIGHLY recommend reading at least from Book Two, “Sweet Fall” which gives us our first Carillo brother’s story. Then, Book Three “Sweet Hope” is our second Carillo brother and finally, “Sweet Soul”, our third and sweetest Carillo.

This author has quickly become one of my absolute favorites. She can write deep, dark, and gritty, or  sweet, soulful and sexy. I binge read everything she’s published this year. None, and I mean, NONE have been a ‘meh’ read or a disappointment. Diving into “Sweet Hope”, I had some hesitation when I found out who’s story it was. No way did I think she could make me invested in the main character who I strongly disliked after the HORRIBLE things they did. Well, it turned out to be my favorite of the series. Then, she brought us the youngest Carillo in this newest release and my heart tightened and exploded. This woman KNOWS how to write tortured men to perfection. She is an artist who creates masterpieces out of broken men like I have yet to read. This story is simply BEAUTIFUL. Don’t miss out on any of these!

1933893_421213074744392_501906888727272178_n

GIVEAWAY! 

Tillie Cole is giving away a Kindle Fire! Enter to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

