Lets Talk BOOKS

TBR Spotlight: Throne of Glass series

Series: THRONE OF GLASS

tumblr_static_4sdvzrtuf4mcg0k0400ccc0s8

Welcome y’all to TBR: SPOTLIGHT! This feature is where I choose a book or series that currently stands in my TBR (to-be-read) pile that I’d like to highlight. Today, we’re looking at the highly recommended, HIGHLY gushed about, fantasy series by the lovely Sarah J. Maas – Throne of Glass! First two books are currently out (Throne of Glass & Crown of Midnight) and recently, the prequel compilation to the series, The Assassin’s Blade is out.

Coming out in September is book three in the series (out of six today–not including novellas), Heir of Fire. Upon confirming this on Goodreads, I scrolled down to see some of the comments…I’m scared. Apparently, the ending of book two-Crown of Midnight-leaves you with overwhelming feels and need for the next book. Now, I fear possibly embarking on this journey this weekend. At least, September isn’t too long from now but I need that rich uncle in my life so I can have ALL THE BOOKS! ALL THE THINGS!

Back to the series. I’m a book cover snob. I’m sorry but I’m so not sorry. Here’s the thing. I am a very visual person. Book covers need to speak to me. They tell me so much. When publishers put out (and I mean now, not before. I get them being bad before but now…with graphic artists and technology? No excuse), when they put out crappy covers, doing the poor book and author NO JUSTICE, it makes my heart sad…and REALLY scared that if I ever do get published, I may get screwed with a bad cover. *quivers lower lip at the thought and fear*

The first book in Sarah J. Maas’ series – Throne of Glass – suffered a slightly cheesy cover incident on it’s first run. Here it is…

Throne-of-Glass-BIG

Now, it had potential. It most definitely was not the worst I’ve seen but the model is just too…model-y. She’s too cute, TRYING to appear bad ass and well, she doesn’t. At. All.

Oh God…I just noticed for the first time her fist…she’s squeezing her fist like she’s trying to flex her knife hugging bicep. Oh dear God.

Well, thankfully, someone took note and soon after, a reprint of paperbacks revealed a VERY different and VERY appropriate cover, which surprised me. I’m not usually into drawings of people on covers but I’m also NOT a fan of real life cover models. Most times than not, they look cheesy. But this…well…

Full-TOG

Hella-Yeah! Now, THAT’S what I’m talking about! Compare the girl from the first cover to this redesigned cover. Holy Moly. BAD. ASS. Now, I WANT to read this! I’m curious. I want to be as cool as THAT girl right there. Give me the book, now. That’s great marketing!

Going with the theme of this new cover change, the books that has followed are BEAUTIFUL! I love these covers so much. Here is book two – Crown of Midnight.

17167166

And so far, my favorite of them all…the prequel compilation – The Assassin’s Blade

1452236_461219877320553_1894721149_n

I want that cloak. I want that outfit. I want to carry blades. I want to look like that, strutting towards my enemies like a BOSS! Then, there’s the third book of the series coming September – Heir of Fire

20613470

I love now, the clear, cohesive theme between these covers! I’m excited to see how once the series is complete, what they’ll look like on my bookshelf. I purposely don’t know a whole lot about the series. I know it’s fantasy. I know there’s a kingdom. I know there seems to be a love triangle of sorts between a prince, this girl (MC), Celaena, and some guy whose name I can not pronounce, Chaol. Celaena seems to not be a wilting flower but a kick ass young woman who I’m sure will be facing a fun assortment of life and death adventures and circumstances. I bet she’s going to rile things up for the kingdom.

WHY IS IT ON MY TBR?

The booktube community raved about this over and over again. By the second book–with the new covers–I was curious for sure. Once the prequel came out and everyone gushed some more, I knew I needed to check this out. I fell in love with the covers (duh) and am curious about the romance set in the midst of this high stakes world.

AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT:

3433047

Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series (Heir of Fire, Book 3, will be out in September 2014). Starting in Spring 2015, her New Adult Fantasy series, A Court of Thorns and Roses, will be published by Bloomsbury as well.
Sarah lives in Southern California, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much coffee, and watches absolutely rubbish TV shows. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the California coastline with her husband.

________________________________________________________________________________

I planned on finishing the LUX series this weekend. I still do but I’m itching a little bit. I…I think I want to start this series but fear I’m going to KICK myself when I get to the end and will be DEMANDING for book three. This indeed seems to be the recipe of one hell of a BOOK HANGOVER.

I’m torn. I want to finish The Giver before I see it in theaters. I want to finish Daemon and Katy’s story –LUX series- and I want to start this series. The weekend is only three days. I am not superhuman. Hmm…

Well, this concludes my first, TBR SPOTLIGHT feature! Tune in weekly or bi-weekly as I share another TBR pile resident with you all. Cheers! Here’s to reading ALL THE BOOKS!

 

2 thoughts on “TBR Spotlight: Throne of Glass series

  1. I feel like I need to give this series another chance. I started the first book.. and really didn’t get on with it. The characters grated, the initial setting and plot was too far fetched, the writing felt clunky.. I dunno, I just couldn’t suspend my disbelief long enough to really get into it.

    That said.. I recently went back to the Gemma Doyle series by Libba Bray after losing faith with it (big style) the first time around. And I have a new appreciation for what it’s doing.

    So I think I should at least try Throne of Glass again. And I have to admit.. those new covers? SCHWEEEET!!! Maybe I should wait until the whole series is complete.. just in case I end up loving it and need to binge read them..

    ^.^

  2. Frankly the newer covers disappointed my severely by giving away outright what is a spoiler for something that gets hinted at up till, but finally detailed at the end of the second book. I wish they had kept the cover art up till the third book inconspicuous.

Leave a Reply

