Posted in Uncategorized

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

coffee_and_books_by_poetriger-d6sgtb7‘The 5th Wave’ by Rick Yancey was by far, one of the most satisfying reads I’ve experienced in some time.

Goodreads Synopsis:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

tumblr_mp1dqnISVk1rwor04o1_500

I heard much about this read but knew nothing about it. My best friend sent me this for my birthday and on it went to my TBR pile on my bedside table. I wasn’t eager to get to it, since I didn’t know much other than the fact that it had some young girl and a teddy bear in it.

Omylanta! There is TOO much I can say about this book. It took me COMPLETELY by surprise. I didn’t expect the pace, I didn’t expect the romance, I didn’t expect an alien takeover concept to feel so NOT sci-fi and just epic, apocalypse adventure. Man, this book was so good. I could gush forever but I’m going to keep this short and just say, GO READ IT! It’s good!

tumblr_mp9qihuQGV1rpvx5lo1_500

Found this Tumblr collage and thought it captured the feel of the book and main characters very well.

tumblr_mq1jztqNCS1srwbmio1_500 tumblr_mq1jztqNCS1srwbmio2_500

A week ago, news broke that the main character Cassie, has been cast in the newly picked up film adaptation based on this best-seller book. Chloe Moretz, who is currently filming another YA adapted book, ‘If I Stay’ by Gayle Forman, has been cast as the bad ass Cassie for Cassiopeia Sullivan.

CHLOE-750x400

Have you read it? I think Chloe is PERFECT to play Cassie. I’m curious to see who they would get for Evan and Ben. *crosses fingers they cast it well* Who do you think could play Evan, Ben and are you satisfied with the casting of Chloe Moretz?

This wasn’t much of a ‘Book Talk’ per-say but I’m still on a book hangover from this one and desperately want the second book of this series in my hands…NOW! A cover and title reveal for the second book was released recently.

1395241820000-9780399162428-InfiniteSea-hires-2-
Due to my hangover, words escape me to give you a sense of the awesomeness, so I will leave you with Christine of BookTube on YouTube (polandbananas20–random YouTube name I know, but there’s a video explaining the method to her madness).

Also, here is a FANTASTICALLY edited fan video inspired by this book and look at that! It stars currently cast heroine of the soon to be movie–Chloe Moretz as Cassie.


 

 

Author:

Desiree Marie is a writer, majestic entrepreneur, and blogging demigoddess. She is rumored to have been birthed from the ashes of the phoenix, though we all know that’s silly–she’s clearly a unicorn. Her hobbies include sleeping, reading, sleeping, writing, sleeping, laughing, and sometimes sleeping. She’s also involved in a torrid affair with coffee. Don’t try to steal her man or she’ll cut a bitch.

One thought on “The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Leave a Reply

