Posted in Uncategorized

New Books I Got: Christmas 2013

13238430234645

Merry Christmas — Happy Holidays to all!

Hello friends! Hope everyone had a great holiday! (I believe I said this already in a previous post, but never hurts to say it twice!)

Did any of you get books this holiday season as gifts? Gifts from others? How about gifts to yourself? I may have done so…okay, Yes. I most definitely gifted myself with a couple books perhaps. *grins*

I wanted to share the books I have gotten this month, thus adding to my very long TBR (To Be Read) pile!

book christmas tree

Man, there were so many good pictures of publishing houses or bookstore making Christmas trees out of books. I wish I had collected them all to share with y’all here, but alas…I did not. I found this one. It was nice, it was lit up, and the shot was clear,–unlike many others I found.

So here is my list of books I got myself during this holiday break:

Fracture Me by Tahereh Mafi (Adam’s POV)

IMG_20131225_012954

Eep! So the day before my birthday–December 17th–this was released. This is the second “novella” or whatever they call it, in the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi. The first being Destroy Me which is told in the perspective of Warner. This new “novella” is told in Adam’s perspective or Point Of View (POV).

I have read both Shatter Me and Unravel Me and am biting my nails in anticipation for the third and last book in this series, Ignite Me, which comes out the beginning of this February.

*jumps up and down squealing like a little girl while hugging a pillow…scratch that…squeezing the pillow to death*

I confess, I did not read Destroy Me before reading Unravel Me (Book 2). All of Tahereh’s “novellas” have been bridge stories leading to the next book. I plan on reading both Destroy Me and Fracture Me before Ignite Me releases in two months.

Two. Months! *jumps up and down again*

Goodreads Synopsis:

In this electrifying sixty-page companion novella to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, discover the fate of the Omega Point rebels as they go up against The Reestablishment. Set during and soon after the final moments of Unravel Me, Fracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective.

As Omega Point prepares to launch an all-out assault on The Reestablishment soldiers stationed in Sector 45, Adam’s focus couldn’t be further from the upcoming battle. He’s reeling from his breakup with Juliette, scared for his best friend’s life, and as concerned as ever for his brother James’s safety. And just as Adam begins to wonder if this life is really for him, the alarms sound. It’s time for war.

On the battlefield, it seems like the odds are in their favor—but taking down Warner, Adam’s newly discovered half brother, won’t be that easy. The Reestablishment can’t tolerate a rebellion, and they’ll do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam has ever cared about.

Fracture Me sets the stage for Ignite Me, the explosive finale in Tahereh Mafi’s epic dystopian series. It’s a novella not to be missed by fans who crave action-packed stories with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu

Next!

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

2013-12-28 14.06.46

I have heard much about this book–all good things. Every time I went to Target, and traveled along towards the Books section where they have YA, of course (it’s always a dangerous venture for my wallet when I go there) I would see this book and want to get it. Every time though, there was either a specific “mission” book I was hunting down, or there would be another book I have wanted that just beat it out momentarily.

Well, my sneaky bestie went over–with me on the phone–either pretending or genuinely asking, then using it to her advantage–and asked about suggestions for her to buy for herself. When she mentioned this book, I “Ooo-ed” and “awe-ed” at it, letting her know I had heard many a good things about it. Long story short, she surprised me by sending it to me with some other amazing writing goodies as my birthday/Christmas present!

This is the first book in a series.

Goodreads Synopsis:

The Passage meets Ender’s Game in an epic new series from award-winning author Rick Yancey.

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Next!

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

2013-12-28 14.05.01

I heard of Neverfade before I had heard of The Darkest Minds book. They’re apart of the same series. Neverfade, in fact is book 2 of The Darkest Minds series. Here’s the thing–it’s terrible when someone at Target (where I mostly purchase my impulse book buys) at the register asks me what the book in my hand is about. I fail. Due to the wonderful book bloggers out there and Epic Reads, is how I know about good and upcoming YA books. There are certain bloggers or book-tubers, if you will, as well as the Epic Read gals, whose opinions I take highly into consideration. This was one of those books. I still don’t know much about it but it’s been talked about by the people who I trust, so I bought it!

Other than the Epic Read gals from HarperCollins teen division (HarperTeen), there is this book blogger–Bookables–on YouTube. She just released a video of her “Top 13 Books of 2013”. This made the cut. You could also search her site for book reviews on both The Darkest Minds and Neverfade.

Goodreads Synopsis:

When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something alarming enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that gets her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that’s killed most of America’s children, but she and the others have emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they cannot control.

Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones.

When the truth comes out, Ruby barely escapes Thurmond with her life. Now she’s on the run, desperate to find the one safe haven left for kids like her—East River. She joins a group of kids who escaped their own camp. Liam, their brave leader, is falling hard for Ruby. But no matter how much she aches for him, Ruby can’t risk getting close. Not after what happened to her parents.

When they arrive at East River, nothing is as it seems, least of all its mysterious leader. But there are other forces at work, people who will stop at nothing to use Ruby in their fight against the government. Ruby will be faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at a life worth living.

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

2013-12-28 14.05.48

Now when it came to this series, I was a bit “iffy” about it. At first, I didn’t know the same author of The Mortal Instruments series–Cassandra Clare–was the same author of this series. The covers would always catch my attention. I love anything Period Drama. Before getting out of my reading slump and falling in love with YA, I was and still am forever, a Jane Austen junkie. With that, comes a love for the Bronte sisters, Louisa May Alcott, Dickens, and pretty much, most of the Classics. So when you can find a way to bring my love for these eras AND YA together…I’m usually sold. Then I found out the author was the one who wrote The Mortal Instruments. I had been iffy about reading this series as well. I hadnt heard much about it until the movie began being promoted. I have to remember to stop judging the book by it’s movie. I was suggested to read them, so they’re on my TBR–the first two books thus far. Then I was told by a few avid readers, to read this series–Clockwork, The Infernal Devices series because it’s even better than TMI. Done. My curiosity was already itching, so that was all the confirmation I needed. I gifted myself with this new pretty covered book.

Goodreads Synopsis:

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

And this concludes my list of Christmas Books I received or bought myself…wow…let’s face it–I only received one book, the rest I bought myself *grins*

New Years is coming up! Hope everyone has a great, amazing, epic and safe end of the year, “kick it in the butt”, “kiss 2013 good and bye” hoopla!

*hugs the internet*

<3, D. Marie

Author:

Desiree Marie is a writer, majestic entrepreneur, and blogging demigoddess. She is rumored to have been birthed from the ashes of the phoenix, though we all know that’s silly–she’s clearly a unicorn. Her hobbies include sleeping, reading, sleeping, writing, sleeping, laughing, and sometimes sleeping. She’s also involved in a torrid affair with coffee. Don’t try to steal her man or she’ll cut a bitch.

Leave a Reply

