Posted in Uncategorized

Unravel Me, Delirium Reviews & Sinus Colds

6a00df351d77948833010535aeb062970c-800wi

The Sinus Cold Blues…and a little Reading

Hello everyone out there. Nice to see many new passersby that I am sure is only due to my two Hunger Games posts since today is…Happy Catching Fire Day! Everyone is so excited about today’s premiere and are prepping to line up in the midst of a hundred others to see this film. I’m not going to lie, I’m pretty darn excited myself. It didn’t help that last night I suddenly hopped onto Youtube and found all these cast interviews and it was over…I was now officially fangirling. I also came to the realization of why everyone’s all

“Jlaw OMG” “Jennifer Lawrence tots!”

That girl is hilarious and very down to earth, screaming at the Victoria Secret model commercials on TV, telling them to get off her television.

That was it–Sold! I became a fan.

Finally, someone in Hollywood who is real or if there are others, is vocal and not ashamed to point out the truths and flaws about the industry she works in. What I love is, she has no fear of losing opportunities so she doesn’t keep her mouth shut about it. She relies on her talent and it’s paying off. Ok, wow, anyway, that was not the point of this post. *chuckles* But I guess  I gave my little tribute to the tribute of today’s premiere event. (Did you see what I did there? The little pun I did there? *cracks herself up…notices…she’s only one laughing…clears throat and continues*)

SO! I have been M.I.A. first, because I was busy being less introverted and having girl’s night out with the in-town bestie. It was good but unfortunately, the two week battle I was engaged in with this cold that tried to creep up on me but I kept swatting away, finally pinned me down like a wrestler. *Waves fist* “Why I outta….”

I have spent the last three days–today is day four–sick in bed with a sinus cold. (cue in the “boo”‘s) And get this…are you ready? I have not had coffee…in THREE. DAYS.

*TIME OUT*

So I went to go find an image to display my feelings about this and ran into too many good ones…I will share them now

*TIME IN*

coffee_large-495x495

IneedCoffeeTshirt

408079-funny-no-coffee-joke.png

need-coffee-now
This picture seems so appropriate right now cause I’m a redhead again and I’m wearing my glasses. I’ll see if I can reenact this in a photo soon-lol

Well, today is day four and dag-nab-bit! I will NOT continue to be sick! Tomorrow is a very important day. Tomorrow, I paid to be in Lauren Oliver’s writing for YA workshop. *does a little dance*

I’m excited and a little nervous. I’m nervous, not because of the author. She’s cool but a person like all of us who once was just like me–not yet published with starry-eyed hopes and dreams. I’m nervous because I still don’t feel like I “belong” or “fit in” with the writer’s community. I haven’t “proven” myself yet. Who am I to even call myself a “Writer”. I think, “what kind of people will be there? English majors? English master degrees? Other already published authors? Authors who’ve written for 10, 20, 30 years trying to make it in the industry and who I am to stroll in–completely naive still to this world–and claim to have ideas, skills, talent?”

*breathe*

This will be my first Writer’s workshop and it’s with someone big in the YA community. Lauren Oliver is the author of the YA series, Delirium (Pandemonium follows, then Requiem ends the trilogy). In addition to that, she’s written a couple Middle Grade novels, her YA debut novel–Before I Fall–several short story (novellas) featuring secondary characters from the Delirium series and has a new YA standalone being released I believe it is early next year–Panic. All in all to say–this is a biggie. Our city is having a Book Fair which began this week and concludes this weekend. Tomorrow the workshop and then the rest of the weekend, out door canopies filled with authors and books of all kinds!

In the meantime, while I was cradled in the fetal position, in pain and migraine, wanting to take my FACE off, I turned to book binging. As some of you know, I was focused on writing these last few months but especially in the last month–working on changing my drafts–books had taken a bit of a back seat, which made me sad because I missed them. When my head wasnt throbbing, I reached over and grabbed the book I knew I would fly through. I had read the first four chapters and had to will myself to put it down because I was in the middle of reading other books at the moment. Three days ago, I was sick so, I didn’t care.

1459157_10152402995384768_1152035908_nUnravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

I believe I wrote a short opinion–not so much a review–of the first book of this trilogy, Shatter Me. These too will be short “Reviews” but wanted to just let you all know what I thought about these two books.

Overall, I REALLY enjoyed this sequel. I feel as though many things weren’t fully developed, giving us only pieces to a puzzle, which was probably on purpose in regards to setting up the final book of the trilogy, Ignite Me. The much anticipated CHAPTER 62 did not disappoint,

“Bravo Mrs. Mafi-Riggs *wink* Bravo”.

The new developments from where book one left off were interesting and had you wanting to understand where they were, and what’s really going on. The ending was unexpected, leaving you with the “grabbie hands” over Ignite Me that is taking TOO long to come home to me.

From here on out, I will be going into more details with SPOILERSyou have been warned 🙂 The next book Delirium review will also contain SPOILERS

*

*

*

*

*

So! Adam kind of went down a notch for me here, which might have been Mafi’s intention so she could elevate Warner in our eyes after the TERRIBLE impression we were left of him in book one.

Adam finds out he’s got an ability but they didnt know what it was. Juliette was mourning the hope that it was just a fluke in humanity that gave her one person who could touch her in this life. Turns out, Adam could turn off someone’s ability but not knowing yet how to control it, had started weakening around Juliette, losing control of the turn off switch of her death touch which meant…Juliette was now able to hurt and kill Adam. Poor Juliette, I get her here. This really SUCKED for her. The only other person she knew who could touch her, she loathed–Warner.

So Adam, being the boy he is, tried at first keeping this from her, causing them tensions in their relationship, then she breaks up with him because she loves him and wont risk hurting him or worse, killing him. Right when Adam thought it would be okay, he goes for it. They have a steamy make out session and then…he gets hurt. Juliette’s done. She won’t do  this to him and walks away. Then enters Warner. Oh Warner. So apparently, before reading Unravel Me, Destroy Me–Warner’s novella–gives you insight to Warner and certain misunderstandings in Juliette’s point of view. Warner is that a jacked up, mistreated puppy, starving for love (Oh, yea, those who’ve read it…I just correlated Warner and the puppy…you know which one *wink*) whose been forced to do some terrible things since childhood. Warner and Juliette start bonding.

THEN! The thing I NEVER saw coming.

Warner’s dad–the evil Anderson–is ADAM’S FATHER!!! WARNER….AND ADAM…ARE BROTHERS! What! The! Heck!?
*drops book on lap-eye’s bulge*

 

I mean, wow. That just threw everything for a loop. Things just got VERY complicated…especially after that steamy almost more than a make out scene with Warner and Juliette in chapter 62.

The end when Juliette got shot shocked me. Her waking up next to Warner taking care of her was interesting and then…Mafi leaves us there.

So much of this book left MANY things unanswered. I will say, more than anything I am invested in the relationships here. What the heck is going to happen with Warner and Juliette, Juliette and Adam, Warner and Adam, because Warner still doesn’t know that they’re related. I was frustrated with Adam and Juliette’s relationship hence why it must have been so easy to hop on the Warner and Juliette train here. I read the rest of that book in one day. It was a great, quick read that pulled your emotions, made ya blush a couple times and left you very much wanting to know more after.

I generally liked this book very much and eagerly anticipate it’s finale. Apparently, before it comes out, Fracture Me–Adam’s POV novella will be coming out.

Next!

DeliriumSpecialEdit#131B687-1Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Sadly, this book has been LONG overdue. I knew I needed to read at least the first book of the trilogy before Friday–writer’s workshop. Since my head was throbbing, day two–sick in bed–I luckily had the audio book. I began listening where I had left off reading–chapter 12. I listened to the entire book all day and finished it. It was cool listening to the actress narrating Lena’s voice and doing the voices for the other characters so you knew who was speaking when. The only voice I wasn’t very fond of was Alex’s. She gave him this boyish surfer dude’s voice that irritated me after a while. I felt it was ruining my view of Alex.

This book took me some time to get into. I had started this book months ago and put it down. It was after reading Divergent and Insurgent that I attempted reading this one. Lena’s voice and life just hadn’t grabbed at me yet. The concept was very interesting and I heard SO many people have read and loved this series that I wanted to get into it. In the end, I put it down and continued reading other books. Finally, a month ago, I tried again and got only a little bit further to chapter 9. To it’s defense, I was still reading another book and then Allegiant also had come out, leaving all other books ignored till the end of this one.

Then I bought the audio book over a week ago and listened for a bit while in the kitchen till chapter 12. I had also received four other books that week in the mail and bought the Legend audio book by Marie Lu which all stole my attention away again. Book in general took a back seat because I had been focused on writing as well.

Finally, being sick, I closed my eyes and let the audio book play. My interest was getting peaked at this point because

*SPOILERS*

*

*

*

Lena and Alex danced together at that secret music concert location, then they met at the beach and had cute moments together. Then Alex revealed the truth that he was never cured, he’s an Invalid from the Wilds who joined a resistance who live in Portland pretending to be cured. Lena freaked out and went back to her resolution to focus on getting cured…in seven more weeks. Lena needed to chose her match, who’d she marry and spend the rest of her “disease-free” self with. She decided on someone and tried forcing the idea of Alex out of her mind.

I enjoyed when her guard was finally down and her and Alex began getting closer. They’re love was that cute, fresh, innocent, young, summer love. Hana was now on her side, the three of them hanging out together or just Alex and Lena with Hana as their cover. Then the ending was intense. It all came spiraling downwards into a crashing halt!

Alex…he could not be…dead. I wouldve been more in shock if I wasn’t already anticipating it. I was previous spoiled by a vlog reviewer. Thankfully, after finishing this book, the first two chapters of the next in the series, Pandemonium was on the back.

All in all, from midpoint of the book to the end really grabbed my attention and pulled me in. It is beautifully written. Lauren Oliver describes moments and emotions well and gives them a poetic air without seeming pretentious or trying too hard. The language flows out naturally in seems and I enjoyed it very much. I am very much wanting to read the second book which I hear is the better of the three but then fear the third and last which I have heard okay reviews on. Most say it’s not a bad book but it just felt incomplete, without proper closure of the series. That makes me apprehensive because I dislike closing a series and not feeling satisfied with it as a whole… *cough cough* “Allegiant, I’m looking at you” *cough cough*

I have yet to finish a series where I read the last line, on the last page of the last book, close it, happy sigh pensively and float away.

Those were my two book reads on two of the three days I was sick in bed.

Yesterday I grabbed Mockingjay and finally started reading it. I’m hoping to feel satisfied at the end of it.

In the midst of my sickiness, a suprise goodie arrived for me in the mail! I think in my book haul, I mentioned winning a book over twitter through a HarperCollins teen division editor but I didn’t know which one.

Well, fate sent me the exact one I wanted!

Elusion book

Isn’t the cover beautiful? I’m a “judge book by its cover” girl. *throws hands up* I’m sorry. I can’t lie. A cover to a book I find is so important because it dictates 98% of the time, whether or not I’ll buy it. The 2% is due to it being highly recommended by other booknerds I trust.

Well, I think I have rambled on enough. Apologies if it’s a jumbled mess of thoughts. I am still coming out of my sick stupor. This is the most productive I’ve been all week.

Have a great week! I envy you all watching Catching Fire today! I may not get to seeing it for a while. Oh, the anticipation of awesomeness!

The End. Bye!

Author:

Desiree Marie is a writer, majestic entrepreneur, and blogging demigoddess. She is rumored to have been birthed from the ashes of the phoenix, though we all know that’s silly–she’s clearly a unicorn. Her hobbies include sleeping, reading, sleeping, writing, sleeping, laughing, and sometimes sleeping. She’s also involved in a torrid affair with coffee. Don’t try to steal her man or she’ll cut a bitch.

Leave a Reply

