Posted in Uncategorized

Book Review: Let the Sky Fall

Ollo?  (Megamind reference)

So before I get started with that, I wanted to share how much I feel like a Zombie today. A nice, don’t want to eat people Zombie. You know, like that Warm Bodies dude. I went to bed last night, after washing clothes and continued to read my book. I still had perhaps another 200 pages to go in order to finish it. Uh…I have NO intentions on finishing it last night, may I say.

The book finally started getting good good! I couldn’t put the darn thing down wanting to know what happens with Vane and Audra. So…I finished it…at FOUR. IN. THE. MORNING.

*blood shot eyes*

Needless to say, waking up this morning to do all I needed to do, against the South Eastern sticky, thick, muggy weather that clouded our skies gray, swirling with irritating gnats…was not the perfect recipe for a productive day.

Anyhoo…onto the review!

Book Review:

Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger

9781442450417_p0_v1_s260x420

GoodReads Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Vane Weston has no idea how he survived the category five tornado that killed his parents. And he has no idea if the beautiful, dark-haired girl who’s swept through his dreams every night since the storm is real. But he hopes she is.

Seventeen-year-old Audra is a sylph, an air elemental. She walks on the wind, can translate its alluring songs, and can even coax it into a weapon with a simple string of commands. She’s also a guardian—Vane’s guardian—and has sworn an oath to protect Vane at all costs. Even if it means sacrificing her own life.

When a hasty mistake reveals their location to the enemy who murdered both of their families, Audra’s forced to help Vane remember who he is. He has a power to claim—the secret language of the West Wind, which only he can understand. But unlocking his heritage will also unlock the memory Audra needs him to forget. And their greatest danger is not the warriors coming to destroy them—but the forbidden romance that’s grown between them.

My thoughts on the cover:

So let me start with this. The cover is cool. It’s pretty, I like it. It’s what drew me to the book in the first place. Once I started reading it, there was one teensy little problem about the cover for me…Vane Weston. Every time I looked at the boy on the cover, he looked like just that; a boy. Not any boy either, no no, but Daniel-son from The Karate Kid…a little scrawny, disheveled looking (*chuckle* aww, not in a mean way, in a “Aww, how cute, let me pick you up, cradle you in my arms like a baby, baby talking you to death) Not the imagery I’m hoping for a leading man whom I believe I’m suppose to swoon for, to look like.

As I got mid-book, Audra described him in a way that caught me off guard. I did NOT know he was suppose to look like that. Never once did I picture him that way. Hm… let me find the description, making sure there’s no spoilers…one moment please

*elevator music…notice and nod awkwardly at your silent neighbor standing next to you also waiting*

Found it!

(Audra’s POV chapter)

“When he stepped back into my shelter and stripped off his shirt, he became a completely different guy. Like the Vane I know, was kidnapped and replaced with a serious, hardworking fighter – with incredible abs.

Not that I notice.

I try not to, at least.

It isn’t easy. Westerlies were known for being the most physically beautiful of our kind. Maybe its the warm, peaceful winds that nurtured them. Or something in their genes. Whatever it is, Vane’s definitely a Westerly. Nothing but sculpted, tanned muscle  and long, graceful limbs. Not to mention a face with chiseled, symmetrical features and the most stunning blue eyes I’ve ever seen.”

To which I paused and thought, “Whoa! Uh, hello…Vane!” That is NOT who I had in mind all this time. I had in mind this weak, little boy whose inner dialogue screamed teenager at times and a lot of that perception was due to this cover.

The image throws off Audra for me a bit as well, but mainly it was Vane. So I set myself out to re-imagine him. I concluded on imagining a younger Henry Cavill. You know, the gorgeous specimen of a man who plays Man of Steel: Superman.

Here, let me show you: *wink*

henry-cavill-30504-1440x900-2 henry-cavill-061613-24

 Once I adjusted my prospective, it was smooth Vane sailing from there

The Storyline:

I liked the concept. I found it clever, creative, and well put together. She (Shannon Messenger) did her research and it served her well. She built this world as the backdrop of her story very well. I liked very much the back and forth between Audra’s POV (point of view) and Vane’s POV.

For me, it took some time for the pace to help find a good rhythm while reading. Every chapter was clearly necessary to foreshadow and build up to the grand reveal in the end. The end was A LOT to take in like those Hallmark movies that drag the story along for an hour and fifty six minutes, then all at once, bring into conclusion the entire movies plot and resolution in the last three minutes. This, barely giving you anytime to finally process the characters you’ve been achingly waiting for their coming together which finally happens.

I would say by the last hundred pages is where I was sucked in, no turning back, hence the four in the morning weekday bedtime, all because I couldn’t put the darn book down.

There are times you want to grab Audra by the shoulders and shake her, begging her to get over it and allow the story to go where we’re all waiting and hoping for it go but remember…it’s realistic and her past has definitely scarred her and left her very much broken…so you get over strangling her and move on, enjoying the story again.

For once, I would say, there was no grand cliffhanger provoking you to toss the book across the room for. It leaves it where for a moment you go, “Wait! What? No…*sigh*” but you understand and accept it. You’re left with the desire to reunite with Vane and Audra in the next book.

The next book is:

Let the Storms Break

13645358

So there it is folks! My assessment of the last book I read. I know I’m not really saying a whole about it at all but mainly just telling y’all how I felt about it. I give it a GoodReads 4 stars. It was a well thought out story, entertaining and endearing at times.

Which one will I be reading next, you may…or may not be asking…it’s okay.

e6c6060c15aa11e3a1c022000a9e06ab_7

THE FAULT IN OUR STARS by John Green

Apparently, I need to prepare myself. My feels are going to get pulled apart and my eyeballs may or may not be…no, no…they said for sure, they’ll be leaking…maybe like this:

tumblr_molxztTcKM1qbe37zo1_250

I will update you all about it.

EXTRA EXTRA! READ ALL ABOUT IT!

I am *fingers crossed* hoping that tomorrow is the day, and I can get a new laptop! What does this mean? Back to the writing my book process! It’s time…too many days are messing with my head but I keep getting ideas and plot twists!

Ok, enough of all that. You all are awesome! Have a pleasant day! Till probably tomorrow *wink, tips hat*

Happy Reading!

Happy Living!

Happy Loving!

<3, Des

Author:

Desiree Marie is a writer, majestic entrepreneur, and blogging demigoddess. She is rumored to have been birthed from the ashes of the phoenix, though we all know that’s silly–she’s clearly a unicorn. Her hobbies include sleeping, reading, sleeping, writing, sleeping, laughing, and sometimes sleeping. She’s also involved in a torrid affair with coffee. Don’t try to steal her man or she’ll cut a bitch.

Leave a Reply

