Uncategorized

Wednesday: Beauty Show & Missing YA Peeps

I’m Really Excited to be Back!

des blog

I’d probably have more of an ecstatic expression if it weren’t for how exhausted I am. That was the best I could muster up.

The last three days have been beyond crazy. As I mentioned on Friday, I was going to help my Mom’s company with Β a beauty show event this weekend.

The entire weekend, my days were thrown off. The show technically was Sunday and Monday. Friday and Saturday were spent on preparation. The whole time I thought Sunday was Saturday and Monday was Sunday. Today being Wednesday has me all backwards.

Yesterday, the entire morning and afternoon, my eyelids were fighting me, trying to return to their blissful slumbered state. Finally late afternoon, I rolled off the bed, my sheets entangled to one leg, following me wherever I went. I ate, I showered off the muck from my body and headed out.

My girl and her husband were heading out to a couples thing so I was requested to come over and nanny the two coolest kids I know, my niece and nephew.

They started school now so no more Summer adventures.

2013-08-27 19.48.40
My bookish awesomeness of a niece-this whole thrust into the wonderful world of YA is technically her fault, then Veronica Roths πŸ˜‰
Nicky and Moi
Her little bro, the other love of my life! He is awesome! ❀

When I “nanny” them, it’s always more like, ‘hanging out’ with really cool people who allow me to be the nerdy lover of many YA things without shame…

:dramatically falls to knees: They understand meeeee!

:laughing at myself:

I enjoyed the event this weekend, even though it was exhausting but I must admit, I missed writing and reading. I even tried escaping somewhere to catch up on my reading. Not successful. I got the last book I ordered the week before in the mail that very morning and just had to bring it with me! I bought it cause the cover spoke to me. It was beautiful and alluring.

book at beauty show9781442450417_p0_v1_s260x420Let The Sky Fall

by

Shannon Messenger

I snuck to the V.I.P. section when no one was there, made a little coffee, ate my lunch and hid away in this story. Soon after, people I knew came over to get away and chat. I could see the curious eyes wondering what I was doing…reading a book? In the midst of this crazy extravagant beauty show event? I did find a couple book nerds who could appreciate my get away πŸ˜‰

me beauty show day 1
Day One at the Beauty Show

I’ve been recovering from the twelve hour days starting at the butt crack of dawn, in heels all day. Now after what’s been in total, three to four days away, I am so excited to be back in the world of YA, Reading, Writing, Connecting with you all.

I left off really stoked about my Book One project board that had laid out most of the final outline. My fingers are itching to type away these scenes and chapters.

Today is pretty sweet because this Wednesday, you know, Book Shimmy Day is not just ONE Tea Time by Team Epic Reads, oh no friends , there are TWO Live episodes of Tea Time today! Its like a present from up above! At 3:45pm EST on USTREAM there will be a Tea Time episode catching up on all the awesome Book Birthday releases from this week as well as DIVERGENT Talk, baby! Yes!

Then tonight at 7pm EST on Spreecast there will be TWO YA authors stopping by to chat with everyone Live! Pretty cool huh?

Come chat on Spreecast with Rae Carson, author of The Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy and C.J. Redwine, author of Defiance and Deception! Get your webcams ready, because you could be featured!

http://www.epicreads.com/blog/tea-time-double-header/

Check out the details if you’re interested in the link above. Come on, go check it out! πŸ˜‰

Today I decided to make up for things, making it a Bookish day! Blogging, then some Writing, some Tea Time, more writing, then Tea Time part two, and then Reading. It’s gonna be a good day, I feel it!

I’m still tired, with those heavy, stinging eyeballs, so apologies if this blog post is a little all over the place. I’ll be back in the groove in no time!

Good seeing you all again!

Happy Reading, Living, Loving!

❀ Des

Leave a Reply

